1. contemporary other was formed out the desire to dedicate a sole publication to the modern marginalised identity. to deny the standardisations of our cultural and artistic diet and give precedence to diversity of thought. 

2. co is a limited biannually printed publication – a celebration of alienated voices, artists, thinkers and activists. we stand in solidarity with these voices and acknowledge their contribution/necessity to the fields of art, performance, politics and culture. 

3. co is interested in building a platform for the documentation and discussion of subjectivity for the modern ‘others’ experience. as the idea of the ‘other’ and ‘otherness’ is pivotal to sociological analysis of how majority and minority identities are constructed in society. contemporary other therefore is interested in the dismissal of the majority and favouring the other. 

4. we favour the individual whose identity does not conform unambiguously to the conventional. we favour the marginalised, the dark, the east, the feminist, the queer, the radical, the subordinate, the transnational, the post human, the admix that is the contemporary other. co’s purpose is not the reaffirmation of the concept of us and ‘other’ but is concerned with lack of awareness of social and oppressive constructions hence our name. 

5. contemporary other is interested in developing a discourse on the modern subaltern experience. that is no longer obvious, predictable and easy to identify. but interested in being reflexive and to renegotiate the hegemonic constructed identities that have produced the dialogue  such as ‘other’ 

 

ISSUE #1 INCLUDES

Inès Elsa Dalal | www.ineselsa.com

Emma Møller | www.lingerlongers.tumblr.com

Wahshi Kuhi | www.wiryabudaghi.wordpress.com

Jade Montserrat | www.jademontserrat.com

Peter Hoang Le |www.lonesomeshark.me

Jørgen Callesen | www.jorgencallesen.dk

Benjamin Sebastian | www.benjamin-sebastian.com

River Lin | www.riverperformance.com

Nathaniel Grant | wwww.tillwehavefaces1963.wordpress.com

Ian Deleón | www.iandeleon.com

Selina Thompson | www.selinathompson.co.uk

Anabel Vázquez Rodríguez | www.anabelvazquez.com

Katherine Toukhy | www.katherinetoukhy.com

Ayesha Jones | www.ayeshajones.com

Ilya Noe | www.ilyanoe.com

Webb-Ellis | www.webb-ellis.org

George Davies | www.umbrellasup.co.uk

Jackie Baier |www.jackielynn.de

Fabrizio Terrezza

Aaron Dezonie 

Iben Mondrup

Megan Wooldridge

Justen Tekiela